Important Payment Industry Change within the Eurozone - Update

    Update following announcement from the European Commission 

    The European Commission has recently published a proposal to keep the formal migration End Date in the eurozone unchanged (1 Feb 2014) but to allow a transition period of six months to ensure minimal disruption for consumers and businesses until 1 August 2014.

    This proposal still requires approval by the European Parliament and the European Council in order to become effective and will apply retrospectively.

    During this transition period, banks and other payment service providers can continue to accept and process payments that are non SEPA compliant through existing legacy national payment schemes. In practice this means legacy national payment schemes may continue to run in parallel with SEPA schemes (SEPA Credit Transfer and SEPA Direct Debit) in the Eurozone until 1 August 2014.

    Each jurisdiction has the ability to decide whether to take advantage of the transition period and, if so, for how long. If you operate euro accounts with different banks in euro member states, you should contact them individually to understand the approach each bank is taking following the transition period announcement. We would recommend, however, that you should continue to ensure SEPA readiness at the earliest opportunity.

    Click here if you wish to read more about SEPA End Date Regulation.

    Please contact a member of your Cash Management & Payments Sales team/International Business Manager or Relationship Manager, if you wish to discuss in more detail the impacts and opportunities arising from SEPA End Date changes.

Lloyds Bank is a trading name of Lloyds Bank plc, Bank of Scotland plc, Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets plc and Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets Wertpapierhandelsbank GmbH.

Lloyds Bank plc. Registered Office: 25 Gresham Street, London EC2V 7HN. Registered in England and Wales no. 2065. Bank of Scotland plc. Registered Office: The Mound, Edinburgh EH1 1YZ. Registered in Scotland no. SC327000. Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets plc. Registered office 25 Gresham Street, London EC2V 7HN. Registered in England and Wales no. 10399850. Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority under registration number 119278, 169628 and 763256 respectively.

Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets Wertpapierhandelsbank GmbH is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets plc. Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets Wertpapierhandelsbank GmbH has its registered office at Thurn-und-Taxis Platz 6, 60313 Frankfurt, Germany. The company is registered with the Amtsgericht Frankfurt am Main, HRB 111650. Lloyds Bank Corporate Markets Wertpapierhandelsbank GmbH is supervised by the Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht.

Eligible deposits with us are protected by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS). We are covered by the Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS). Please note that due to FSCS and FOS eligibility criteria not all business customers will be covered.